Red Shari

In a world where you can be anything, be yourself!

Ibn Battuta & Battuta Ville

leave a comment »


Battuta Ville which currently in progress of construction located at Kelantan, Malaysia, the name actually taken from a forgotten traveller. His full name is Abu Abdullah Muhammad Ibn Battuta, also known as Shams ad – Din. He said to be the only traveller which visited all the Muslim rulers of his time. Here links for further reading on him:

http://www.ummah.net/history/scholars/ibn_battuta/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ibn_Battuta

This project basically situated on a land in area of Kota Bharu. It is situated near the Jalan Kuala Krai and JalanTelipot. The location of the site is about 3 km from Bandar Kota Bharu and about 14 km from Jalan Wakaf Che Yeh. It is expected to be a metropolitan city of Kelantan. RM100 Million will be invested by Alam Daya Maju Sdn. Bhd. for the development. The purpose of development are to generate economy by create opportunity for business & create job.

Kelantan is one of the state of Malaysia which rich with raw resources. It’s area approximately 14,922 km².  Kelantan is positioned in the north-east of Peninsular Malaysia. It is bordered by Narathiwat Province of Thailand to the north, Terengganu to the south-east, Perak to the west, and Pahang to the south. To the north-east of Kelantan is the South China Sea.  For further reading on the state, here the link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kelantan

I’ve known about this project from where I’ve do my practical session in a consultant company named AS2 Consult Sdn Bhd.  AS2 is a Quantity Surveyor company which offering consultancy in costing matters in general speaking. QS is one of the consultant in a construction project. They join other consultants such as Architects, Engineers, Interior Designer & etc. I’ll try to explain further regarding who is QS & their task in near future. By the way, I’m pursuing in Degree in Quantity Surveying. Even though, it’s not the path that I used to be want to walk but due some circumstances, I’m on the road. I’ve never known who QS is before entering into the program but somehow I’ve like it & I’ll continue my career as one. One of the bosses have asked me did I know who is Battuta when I’m at that time was taking off the project (a common task in Quantity Surveyor practice). I’ve known nothing about him at all and even don’t make a further study on that. Now, I am.

I’m even had taken the project as my case study as my assignment. However, during the presentation of the study case, lot of mistaken had been made by me due to misrepresentation of the info obtained. The project is unique if you ask me. Even though the plan shape of building is simple but the architectural otherwise. The design said to parallel with the nickname of Kelantan which is “Serambi Makkah”. Egypt Court, China Court, Andalusia Court, Tunisian Court, Indian Court & Persian Court are part of the development to be. These courts are based on some of location that had been visited by Ibn Battuta during his life.

I’ve found a blog which following the construction progress of the Battuta Ville development. Here the link: http://battutaville.blogspot.com/

Hope that there will be more construction project in Malaysia which having Islamic concept as Battuta Ville in the future. I’m sorry for the really brief of infos & if there any mistakes on any info, I’m sorry and you may please inform me. All infos credited to the original writers & owners. Shukran~

Written by Red Shari

November 20, 2010 at 8:10 AM

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

